We follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)
which supports the development, care and learning
needs of your child. Children in the EYFS learn by
playing and exploring, being active, and through
creative and critical thinking which takes place
both indoors and outside. There are 7 areas of
learning and development that are used to
plan your child’s learning experiences and
activities to suit your child’s unique needs
and interests.   

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child
will be learning to support their healthy development.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.  Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are: Communication and language; Physical development; and Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.  As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are: Literacy; Mathematics; Understanding the world; and Expressive arts and design.

To download a copy of a Parents Guide to the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework follow link

EYFS for Parents


  © Holly Hill Pre-School 2018
Design by Oddsock
what we do sessions keyworkers about us about us